nav-left cat-right
Diese Seite auf Deutsch:
Like
cat-right

More than a Bunch of Flowers: The Naples Botanical Garden

Naples is famous for million dollar homes, a vast number of cultural programs and the high-end shops along Fifth Avenue. And yet, only a few minutes away from the pulsating life of the city, a quiet oasis awaits, the Naples Botanical Garden. Unspoiled nature and landscaped gardens with different themes are combined into a beautiful attraction that is well worth visiting.

After years of planning, the Naples Botanical Garden opened in November 2009 and was expanded a few years later. The spacious garden offers seven themed areas: Florida, Brazil, the Caribbean, and Asia showcase native trees and wildflowers. The water garden is a serene landscape dotted with water lilies, while ”The Preserve,” a conservation area, presents a piece of old Florida in its original state. Particularly well-done is the Children’s Garden, which includes a tree house, water playground and butterfly house.

 

You don’t have to be a passionate botanist to be captivated by this beautifully designed garden and its floral splendor. Winding walkways invite the visitor to stroll around for hours. One of the paths leads around a lake – you might spot a small alligator or two – and continues along the nature preserve, where an observation tower (easily accessible by ramp) allows wide views of the untouched landscape. Here, time does stand quite still.

The garden is not just a feast for the eyes, but also offers a number of educational programs for children and adults, from garden design, preservation, and photography to bird-watching and more. If you are ready to take a break from outlet mall shopping and boating tours, you’ll find the necessary peace and serenity right here.

Please note: Due to the construction of the new visitor center, the Garden will be closed from June to October 2014. The grand opening is scheduled for 10/23/14.

 

 

Address:

Naples Botanical Garden

4820 Bayshore Drive, Naples FL 34112

PH: 239-643-7275

 

 

Opening Hours: Daily from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm

 

Website: www.naplesgarden.org

 (May 2014)

 

Leave a message

FAQ | General terms and conditions | Contact | Site notice

nav-left cat-right
This page in English:
Like
cat-right

Es grünt so grün… im Botanischen Garten von Naples

Naples ist berühmt für Millionen-Dollar-Häuser, ein umfangreiches Kulturangebot und die Shoppingmeile entlang der 5th Avenue. Doch nur wenige Minuten vom pulsierenden Leben der Stadt entfernt befindet sich eine stille Oase, der Botanische Garten von Naples. Hier sind unberührte Natur und gepflegte Gärten zu einem sehenswerten Ganzen vereint.

Nach jahrelanger Planung  öffnete der Garten im November 2009 seine Pforten und wurde ein paar Jahre später erweitert. Auf dem weitläufigen Gelände sind jetzt sieben verschiedene Bereiche zu bewundern: Florida, Brasilien, die Karibik und Asien sind mit jeweils typischen Bäumen und Wiesenblumen vertreten. Der Wassergarten ist eine mit Seerosen bestückte malerische Landschaft, während das Naturschutzgebiet „The Preserve“ das ursprüngliche Florida zeigt. Besonders gelungen ist der Garten für Kinder, in dem u.a. ein Baumhaus, ein Wasserspielplatz und ein Schmetterlingshaus zu finden sind.

          

Man muss kein passionierter Botaniker sein, um von diesem wunderschön angelegten Garten mit seiner Blumenpracht eingenommen zu werden. Die verschlungenen Pfade laden zum langen Spazierengehen ein. Ein Weg führt um einen  See herum – hier sieht man manchmal kleine Alligatoren – und am Naturschutzgebiet vorbei, wo ein Aussichtsturm (bequem per Rampe zu erreichen) den weitläufigen Blick auf unberührte Natur erlaubt. Hier scheint die Zeit einfach stillzustehen.

 Der Garten ist nicht nur ein Fest für die Augen, sondern bietet auch zahlreiche Kurse für Kinder und Erwachsene zu Gartengestaltung, Umweltschutz, Fotografie, Vogelkunde und vieles mehr an. Wer zwischen Outlet Mall Shopping und Boot fahren mal eine Pause einlegen möchte, der wird im Botanischen Garten von Naples viel Ruhe und Frieden finden.

 Bitte beachten: Der Garten erhält ein neues Besucherzentrum und ist von Juni bis Oktober 2014 geschlossen. Voraussichtliche Neu-Eröffnung 23. 10. 2014.

 

 

Adresse:

Naples Botanical Garden

4820 Bayshore Drive, Naples FL 34112

Tel. 239-643-7275

 

Öffnungszeiten: Täglich von 9:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr

Webseite: www.naplesgarden.org

(Mai 2014)

Hinterlassen Sie eine Nachricht

FAQ | AGB's | Kontakt | Impressum